New York is Overrated

I’m New York born and raised, but lets just get this out of the way right now: I’m NOT talking about the city. I’m not talking about Long Island or Westchester county, Albany or Rochester, or even Buffalo or Syracuse. I grew up in a small college town just twenty minutes away from the Canadian Border, where our spirit week in high school consisted of flannel day and boys driving their dad’s tractors to school. People tend to forget there’s anything north of Albany, and lets face it… you can’t really blame them.

I’m planning on moving to Los Angeles within the next few years. Occasionally I’ll second guess myself and wonder if I actually have what it takes to leave New York and all that I’ve ever known behind. These thoughts were running through my mind just the other day until I walked outside and it was a windchill of five below… at the end of March… enough said.

It’s beautiful up here in the spring, summer, and fall don’t get me wrong (especially in the fall)! But as time goes on and graduation quickly approaches, I consider the thought of staying in this area for the rest of my life, and I can’t shake the idea that I would be settling. I would be settling for something I know in my core would leave me feeling empty and incomplete.

I’ve been dreaming of getting out of New York since I was ten years old and traveled further than Scranton, Pennsylvania for the first time. I’ve been blessed with the opportunities to travel all over Yellowstone National Park with my family, stick my toes in the warm water along beautiful, empty beaches in Virginia, and even climb the Eiffel Tower at midnight with my french class my junior year of high school.

I LOVE New York. It is and always will be home. But there is so much more to the world beyond the winding back roads of my home town that I’ve spent countless hours driving along, trying to figure out where to go from there. I’ve been lucky enough to get a little taste of what’s actually out there, and it just left me craving more. I have my youth. I have my determination. I have my passion. I have this brand new chapter in my life that’s just about to start. I’ve soaked up everything this area has to offer. It’s time to get out of New York.

Leave a Reply

